Deus Ex Machina

I used to claim I knew what was going on, to have figured how life worked, and I was almost proud of the fact that most of them were wrong. Having gained enough experience to see how often my assumptions proved false, I lowered my expectations. Imagine my surprise when, having decided to take my desire to become a writer seriously, I saw an opportunity to write for a blog called ‘Don’t hate the geek’. I applied, got asked to write something, and was asked to be a contributor!

This is the article I wrote them:

Do we really need a sequel trilogy for Avatar?

Avatar Hairstyles 3

I remember when the trailers for James Cameron’s ‘Avatar’ came out. It looked amazing. The first of a new generation of movies that would show us how incredible 3D movies could be and convince us all to throw out our brand-new HDTV and get a 3DTV instead. I was so excited when I went to see it, but I probably couldn’t tell you anything about the movie except the broad strokes. A veteran soldier is called back to active duty so that his mind can be transferred into a bioengineered alien body designed for his brother. He becomes friends with the native aliens, and there’s a big fight. I think the natives win? I’m really not sure. It was that forgettable.

 

For some reason though enough people liked it for it to do well at the box office for James Cameron to want to make more movies featuring tall blue tribal aliens. He’s even using his considerable pull in Hollywood to delay the new Star Wars schedule, which I’m a little pissed about. Altogether he has 3 movies in the works, in addition to his Avatar inspired Cirque Du Soleil show “Toruk”.

 

[Toruk video – http://montrealgazette.com/entertainment/arts/james-cameron-says-avatar-and-cirque-du-soleil-are-a-natural-fit-in-toruk ]

 

“Christmas of ’17 is the target,” Cameron announced. “But I don’t consider that to be as important as the fact that when we get all three films done, we drop them a year apart. I call it a meta-narrative that runs across the three movies. Each film stands alone, but it also tells one much larger story.”

 

Personal feelings aside, does seem to have put a lot of work into the background for the next movies. “We have decided to embark on a truly massive cinematic process,” said Cameron, “We have design more or less finished, which is an enormous task. It’s been about a two-year task. (We’ve finished) all the creatures and the landscapes, and the new worlds within the world of Pandora that you see. The writing is ongoing, but almost finished. Technical development is done. Stages are done. Infrastructure. So we’re really poised to start after the first of the year.”

 

“I’ve been working the last couple of years with a team of four top screenwriters,” he said, “to design the world of Avatar going forward: the characters, the creatures, the environment, the new cultures.” As a fan of a well written and in-depth storyline, I want to believe that the additional care and attention that Cameron is taking over the upcoming trilogy will make up for any disappointment we got from the first movie. “So far, the art I’m seeing is in pure imagination, really far beyond the first film,” he added. “It’s going to be a true epic saga.”

 

Don’t let me down James Cameron.

 

Watch the interview here: http://montrealgazette.com/entertainment/arts/james-cameron-says-avatar-and-cirque-du-soleil-are-a-natural-fit-in-toruk

 

Sources

http://www.theguardian.com/film/2016/apr/14/james-cameron-four-avatar-sequels-planned-cinema-con-san-diego

http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/642925-avatar-2-director-james-cameron-confirms-release-and-shooting-date

http://www.fandango.com/movie-news/james-cameron-confirms-avatar-2-release-date-as-star-wars-targets-the-box-office-throne-750275

http://montrealgazette.com/entertainment/arts/james-cameron-says-avatar-and-cirque-du-soleil-are-a-natural-fit-in-toruk

 

One thought on “Deus Ex Machina

Leave a Reply

